Stamford Bridge was opened in 1877 for the use of the London Athletics Club, who maintained it as their own. In 1904, it was bought by the Mears brothers and its use changed to football. The ground has been used for other sports, including greyhound racing, American football, baseball and hockey. Renovations to the ground were completed in 2001 and cost more than £100 million. The stadium now has a capacity of 42,500 and its own Stamford Bridge hotel which is built at the stadium complex itself, which also boasts five restaurants. The new retail complex covers more than 20,000 square metres. Along with the on-site Chelsea hotel, visitors will be pleased to find numerous quality Stamford Bridge hotels. Chelsea is currently conducting a feasibility study into a new 55,000 stadium in West London.
There are guided stadium tours. For bookings phone 0870 603 0005 or email: email@example.com
A reasonable selection of food and drink is available, including Chicken Balti pies, hot dogs and pasties. Alcohol is available by in the form of bottles of Budweiser. Harry Ramsden's fish and chip shop, located just outside the Shed End entrance, does a brisk trade.
Away fans are seated in the East Stand (the Shed End) which offers great viewing. Visiting fans occupy part of the upper tier and the whole of the lower tier. There isn't a great deal of space between the sections allocated to home and away fans, but visitors have reported a good atmosphere in the ground, with no feeling of intimidation.
The club has around 85 members who regularly meet to watch Chelsea games on TV in ‘Fibbers’ bar in Dubai.
On average, members go to watch a combined total of around 30 games a season at Stamford Bridge.